Book Review: We Bought a Zoo | Jest Kept Secret

We Bought a Zoo

This post contains affiliate links, which means that if you make a purchase through my link, I receive a small commission at no additional cost to you. Read about our affiliate policy here.

I think the timing of this book review is pretty appropriate considering today is a double post day, and the other post is the beginning of this month’s Battle of the Zoos series. Be sure to check that out while you’re here!

Title: We Bought a Zoo
Author: Benjamin Mee
Genre: Memoir
Content Warning: Scattered strong language

Blurb

In the tradition of “Marley & Me” comes an unforgettable memoir about the mysteries of the animal kingdom, the power of family, and the triumph of hope over tragedy in this chronicle of the Mee family’s purchase of the Dartmoor Wildlife Park, a dilapidated zoo in the English countryside.

Goodreads

My Thoughts

I LOVED this book! It was fascinating to learn about the day-to-day operations of a zoo and the world of zookeeping. The writing was tight, the voice was well-developed, and the humor was so British. I fell in love with all of the characters (human and animal) and it made me miss England so badly.

I could do with a few less F-words, though. No need for any of that.
Score: (4 / 5)

Add to Goodreads

buy from amazon

Buy This Book from Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide

Heads Up, Book Lovers!

Right now, Barnes and Noble is running a 20% off sale on YA new releases, best sellers and more, as well as 50% Off On Over 100 Books*!

* Valid through 12/25/18.
If you miss the window, never fear! I try to keep this post updated with the current sales, so be sure to check back later.

 

And don’t forget to save this book to your Pinterest reading list! Thanks!

Book Review: We Bought a Zoo | Jest Kept Secret

2 Comments

    1. I liked the movie, but haven’t read the book yet. Usually, I think the book is better than the movie. Have you seen the movie, Jess?

      1. Yes, it’s one of my favorites. It’s quite good. Some of the details crossed over from the book to screen, but not many. I think it stays true to the heart of the story, though.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *