We Bought a Zoo

By Jessica Friedman

Share on facebook
Share on pinterest
Share on twitter
Share on email

This post contains affiliate links. If you make a purchase through one of these links, I will receive a small commission at no extra cost to you. Read my affiliate policy here

I think the timing of this book review is pretty appropriate considering today is a double post day, and the other post is the beginning of this month’s Battle of the Zoos series. Be sure to check that out while you’re here!

Title: We Bought a Zoo
Author: Benjamin Mee
Genre: Memoir
Content Warning: Scattered strong language

Blurb

In the tradition of “Marley & Me” comes an unforgettable memoir about the mysteries of the animal kingdom, the power of family, and the triumph of hope over tragedy in this chronicle of the Mee family’s purchase of the Dartmoor Wildlife Park, a dilapidated zoo in the English countryside.

Goodreads

My Thoughts

I LOVED this book! It was fascinating to learn about the day-to-day operations of a zoo and the world of zookeeping. The writing was tight, the voice was well-developed, and the humor was so British. I fell in love with all of the characters (human and animal) and it made me miss England so badly.

I could do with a few less F-words, though. No need for any of that.
Score: 4 out of 5 stars (4 / 5)

Add to Goodreads

buy from amazon

Buy This Book from Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide
[clear]

[box border_width="2" border_color="#b9e4ee" border_style="solid" icon="book" icon_style="border" icon_shape="circle" align="center" title="Heads Up, Book Lovers!"]

Looking for some great books to read this year? Book Depository always has excellent deals with free shipping worldwide! Plus, you get a sweet little bookmark designed by independent artists, to boot. And until March 23, 2020, you can get 40% off select bestsellers!

[/box]

 

And don’t forget to save this book to your Pinterest reading list! Thanks!

Book Review: We Bought a Zoo | Jest Kept Secret

2 Responses

  1. I liked the movie, but haven’t read the book yet. Usually, I think the book is better than the movie. Have you seen the movie, Jess?

    1. Yes, it’s one of my favorites. It’s quite good. Some of the details crossed over from the book to screen, but not many. I think it stays true to the heart of the story, though.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt out at any time. For more information, please see our privacy policy.